It turns out you're reliably using less resources that you expected, or you've retired a VM and don't need to create another in its place, in this case we can downgrade the resource pool to save on costs, here's how;

IMPORTANT - You cannot downgrade below the capacity of resources that are currently in use, if you wish to downgrade you must first make space by deleting a VM or decreasing its assigned resources.

  1. Log into your account and using the side-panel select "Services - Flexible Resources".
  2. Select the Resource pool you intend to create a VM on, for new users there may be only one.
  3. In the Resources page select the "Resources" tab (top-right).
  4. Here you will see a summary of your current allocation and usage, in the bottom-right click on "Upgrade/Downgrade".
  5. Move the sliders to your desired specification and click "Continue".
  6. Here you will be given a summary which includes the new monthly price, and if you're owed any credit (due to pro-rata invoicing) it will be assigned to your account automatically.
  7. You will receive confirmation that the upgrade/downgrade is processing and within a few seconds the new resources should be appropriately adjusted.
  8. Confirm this by clicking the "Resources" tab, the capacity and usage should have updated.

Check out our quick video guide here;

If you get stuck or need any help, we're always around, just create a ticket and myself or one of the team will assist as soon as possible.

Kind regards,
James

Did this answer your question?